Episode Four: Character Creation as Play

In our games, we tend to use character creation as our first session. We all get together to sketch the setting, tone, and make the characters a cohesive group. This is because character creation is vitally important to RPGs, and it needs to be given the importance it deserves. In this episode, we talk about group cohesion, some bad ways of making characters, and some great ways to use character creation! In many ways, this episode is talking about what is awesome about making characters from a group perspective.

Joe also laments about some shelving problems, label problems, and is generally crotchety except when he pitches a “murder-hobo” game.

Please email us, or post on the Forums, join us on Facebook, or talk to (Nicky, pretty much) on Twitter!

Episode 2-4!

Favorite Games of the Week

Marvel Hero Basic Roleplaying Game, which has since been updated to facilitate character creation.
The Secrets of Tactical Archetypes II
Dresden Files RPG

Currently Playing

Announcements

Theron actually won the contest!

Servants of Gaius came out, and it’s awesome. Joe’s credited in it as a historian.

Joe was totally wrong about what was published when. InSpectres was published in 2002, My Life with Master was published in 2003, Dogs in the Vineyard was published in 2004, and Spirit of the Century in 2006.

The Building Better Characters column was from RPG.net published in 2006-7 by Greg Schneider. The three columns discussing the seven rules are in three parts: One, Two, Three. His methodology list can be found here.

Shoutouts!

Joe loves his Mom!

Shout out to Tony Miller, who was a player not a character!

Kevin the Epic is awesome, and is the reason we were Godcrusher!

Music Section

“Roll the Dice, Make my Day [Stick Jones Remix]” (Stick Jones)
“Happy Birthday [Controls OMGHAPPYBIRTHDAYVENGEANCE Remix]” (Controls)
“LIARS” (Just and Animal)
“Soul Hit Man (The Funk Hunters Remix)” (See-I)

Games Mentioned

Dresden Files RPG
Geist: The Sin Eaters
Vampire: the Requiem
Fate
Shard
My Life with Master
Dogs in the Vineyard
InSpectres
Spirit of the Century
Remnants
GURPS Flight 13
Scion
Qin: The Warring States
Star Wars D6
GURPS Vorskogian Saga
GURPS Space
Queen of the Spiders
7th Sea
The Shadow of Yesterday

About joewolz

I am a co-host of 2 Gms, 1 Mic.
This entry was posted in Episodes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Episode Four: Character Creation as Play

  1. Hi !
    It’s been a really cool podcast. Thanks for the Secrets of Tactical Archetypes II review. Glad you liked the book ! it’s always cool to see that you succeeded at making concepts usually considered as boring actually look awesome enough to play them someday. šŸ™‚

    You indeed butchered my name, but when it is done with such a beautiful voice and english accent, my man’s heart couldn’t care less.

    Frenchly yours,
    Benjamin Rombeaut

  2. šŸ˜€ I am sorry I mispronounced your name Benjamin. And thank you for listening to the show, means a lot.
    Shoot us an email when your next publication comes out, I will totally get it and give it a read.
    -Nicky

    PS – I read your comment and I was both very flattered and extremely embarrassed that you listened to the show and my crappy pronunciation.

    • Ahahah, don’t worry about it ! Like I said, I couldn’t care less with such a beautiful voice ! (And honestly, I doubt my own accent would make for a perfect-sounding show from an english point of…erm… hearing ?) šŸ™‚

      I discovered this podcast through Will, who pointed out the TSoTA II review to me, and I listened to the whole .mp3 because you both felt so passionated and amused thanks to your hobby, it was really pleasant. Though I admit that since I have few free time and only ever played D&D, I tend to be interested only in Pathfinder RPG-related content. I’m looking forward to hear more about the topic if you can convince your players !
      I have no future publication scheduled for the time being (I believe I have to -actively- search for it…), but I have tons of free candy publicly available on Paizo messageboards that I designed during my free time, and that you may find interesting. These are the contents that catch Will’s eyes toward suggesting me to Rite Publishing’s Steve Russel and asking me to co-design TSoTAII with him. Probably not all the options are perfectly balanced or professional-looking, but lots of people seem to like them and I always acknowledge beforehand eventual issues and correct them later when needed. I’ll email you the links… not gonna advertise in the comments. Will (McCardell) has several supplements already published that he designed himself and were very well received too. I’ll include the link to his works. We also have some more options to complement TSoTA II in the free fanzine Pathways #14. Take it as a bonus for the fans ! šŸ™‚

      May you keep your passion (and may we keep feeding the fire when we feel like it) !

      ‘Til next time
      Benjamin Rombeaut

  3. Thanks for doing a review of The Secrets of Tactical Archetypes, if you would like review copies of our products please just shoot me an email (steve at ritepublishing dot com

    Steve Russell
    Rite Publishing

Leave a Reply

